Angebote zu "Prejudice" (18 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Pride and Prejudice
27,90 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Pride and Prejudice is the most popular Jane Austen novel and has inspired millions of readers worldwide. More than hundred years after its first publication Mary Steele MacKaye - wife of the famous actor James Steele MacKaye - adapted the love story between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy to stage. She created a play that fascinates the audiences as much as the novel does its readers.Reprint of the original edition from 1922.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Content of Our Character, The
14,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

In this controversial collection of essays, award-winning writer Shelby Steele tackles the tough question 'Why, after 25 years of legal change and ebbing prejudice, are blacks worse off today?' A critically acclaimed national bestseller and winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Identity in Democracy
44,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'Even though identity is a big subject these days, the role of identity in democratic politics has received far too little critical attention. It tends to get either indiscriminate praise as a route to self-realization and to group justice, or derogatory dismissal as a vehicle of prejudice and partiality, or radical neglect as a poor relation of group interest. Amy Gutmann's book provides a splendid scrutiny of this rich and diverse terrain, ending with a coherent and integrated understanding of the role of identity groups in democratic politics. We have reasons to be grateful.'--Amartya Sen, Trinity College, 1998 Nobel Laureate in Economics 'For anyone who believes that identity politics is just identity politics, this timely book will be a revelation. Comprehensive and full of brilliant insight, it remains always accessible as it puts identity politics through its philosophical paces, revealing along the way its indispensability to all politics, to 'civic equality, liberty, and opportunity'--to democracy itself.'--Claude Steele, Stanford University 'Amy Gutmann has an unusual--and extremely valuable--ability to take large, contentious subjects and discuss them calmly, lucidly, and imaginatively. The politics of identity and culture easily arouse violent passions even in academia, but this book shows that it is possible to argue toughly and to reach firm conclusions without once resorting to name-calling. I doubt that even one of her readers will agree with all of Gutmann's conclusions--but they will all have to take account of the wealth of empirical evidence and stringent reasoning in this book.'--Alan Ryan, Oxford University 'Like all of Gutmann's work, this book is verywell written, clear, convincing, and most of all a pleasure to read. It will become a must for those interested in democracy and human rights as well as in identity group politics and the status of minorities, and will therefore draw the attention of large audiences.'--Yael Tami

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Jane Steele
16,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths JANE STEELE HAS BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2017 Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors. A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Jane Steele
9,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths JANE STEELE HAS BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2017 Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors. A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Jane Steele
9,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths JANE STEELE HAS BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2017 Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors. A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Content of Our Character, The
16,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

In this controversial collection of essays, award-winning writer Shelby Steele tackles the tough question 'Why, after 25 years of legal change and ebbing prejudice, are blacks worse off today?' A critically acclaimed national bestseller and winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Identity in Democracy
39,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'Even though identity is a big subject these days, the role of identity in democratic politics has received far too little critical attention. It tends to get either indiscriminate praise as a route to self-realization and to group justice, or derogatory dismissal as a vehicle of prejudice and partiality, or radical neglect as a poor relation of group interest. Amy Gutmann's book provides a splendid scrutiny of this rich and diverse terrain, ending with a coherent and integrated understanding of the role of identity groups in democratic politics. We have reasons to be grateful.'--Amartya Sen, Trinity College, 1998 Nobel Laureate in Economics 'For anyone who believes that identity politics is just identity politics, this timely book will be a revelation. Comprehensive and full of brilliant insight, it remains always accessible as it puts identity politics through its philosophical paces, revealing along the way its indispensability to all politics, to 'civic equality, liberty, and opportunity'--to democracy itself.'--Claude Steele, Stanford University 'Amy Gutmann has an unusual--and extremely valuable--ability to take large, contentious subjects and discuss them calmly, lucidly, and imaginatively. The politics of identity and culture easily arouse violent passions even in academia, but this book shows that it is possible to argue toughly and to reach firm conclusions without once resorting to name-calling. I doubt that even one of her readers will agree with all of Gutmann's conclusions--but they will all have to take account of the wealth of empirical evidence and stringent reasoning in this book.'--Alan Ryan, Oxford University 'Like all of Gutmann's work, this book is verywell written, clear, convincing, and most of all a pleasure to read. It will become a must for those interested in democracy and human rights as well as in identity group politics and the status of minorities, and will therefore draw the attention of large audiences.'--Yael Tami

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.11.2020
Zum Angebot